Smoooch!

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – Book Review

Awww, I really enjoyed this book. Maybe because it was almost exactly what I thought it would be. It was fun, cute, endearing, a little sad, dramatic, and the main character was written with my kind of silly humor which resulted in many an awkward LOL moment on public transit. And maybe I have a special place for this book because it reminds me of Sloppy Firsts which was a favourite of mine in high school… when I could actually relate better to being in high school.

I did get tired of her mentioning just how beautiful St. Clair was and how amazing his hair was. But maybe it’s because I can’t relate to that. My man forgot to put the attachment onto his clippers and accidentally shaved off part of his hair the other day. I still love him so I obviously have very low hair standards.

Speaking of love… It was a little frustrating at just how dense she was when it came to St. Clair – of course he loves her!! And the ending was a little too sappy for me as it all turns up roses for a couple of kids who have just graduated high school. I personally prefer my YA romances to end a little more ambiguously because how many couples really stay together after high school? You know, they can be together but none of this “forever” crap, it should just end in the moment and the reader can hope for the best.

Overall, I really liked it, 4/5 stars for me.

One thought on “Smoooch!

Leave a Reply

