This book makes me thirsty…

50 Shames of Earl Grey

50 Shames of Earl Grey by Fanny Merkin (aka Andrew Shaffer) – Book Review

I found this book really hit or miss on its jokes and overall, it was just ok. I expect parodies to be LOL funny, most times I’m let down and 50 Shames of Earl Grey was no exception.

It was funniest when it directly referenced things from the original:

“You’re a mystery to me, baby,” he says, biting the tip off the banana. 

I blush, “Oh, stop.”

“No, it’s true,” he says. “I have no idea what’s going on inside that pretty little head of yours…”

“To be honest, I have no idea either,” I say, looking down at the table to avoid his powerful gaze. “Most times, my mind is just an ongoing, present-tense, first-person monologue. It’s like I’m writing a novel, constantly, but only in my brain. A really bad novel.”

and

… I gaze at him, and then Earl gazes at me, and then we all take turns gazing at each other gazingly.

There were also some other gems such as:

 “No man is an island” he says. “Islands are made of dirt and rocks and trees. I don’t know any people made of such things. Therefore, people are not islands.”

50 Shames had a lot of potential since the original book was so hilariously bad but it kept repeating it’s own lame jokes over and over again. I think for me, the funniest parodies are the ones that are true and this book was just so far fetched that it lost any relatable humour.

I’ll leave you with some so-funny-because-it’s-so-true parodies:

Leave a Reply

