Book 4: The Book Thief

Book: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Source: Already owned
Goal Progress: 4/50 books, 1/12 from my shelf
Rating: 3/5

Hmmm… I’m not really sure what I thought about this. It wasn’t bad but I certainly didn’t love it like other people have. Maybe it’s one of those books I would have enjoyed more had I read it when I was a pretentious teenager? Nuanced books like this just aren’t my thing anymore. Though, maybe if there wasn’t so much hype over this book, I would have liked it more.

I had a hard time believing that death would have so much to say about Liesel’s life. It’s one thing for death to pop in and out and show us snip-its of what was going on with her life but it was all very detailed, too detailed for my taste. I thought that the bold text could have been used better. I liked when it was Death inserting an extra fact that we wouldn’t have otherwise known, like Himmel = Heaven but I didn’t enjoy it when Death would make a comment on something and then go onto explain in further detail the same thing he had already stated. It was all too much. Also there was too much telling of what happened in the future which took away a lot of the mystery of what would come and I wasn’t exactly compelled to read on.

I really enjoyed parts of the book but overall it fell flat.

Leave a Reply

