Book 12: Fangirl

Book: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Source:  owned
Goal Progress: 12/50 books, 2/12 from my shelf (does a reread count as from my shelf? I’m going with yes.)
Rating: 5/5

I’m happy to say that this book is just as good the second time you read it. I loved everything about it.

I loved Cath because I saw so much of myself in her. First year of university is hard, and while I didn’t live in a dorm, I’m pretty sure that I would have been just as secluded as Cath. But since I didn’t have a roommate, a lot of my own personal growth came from my customer service job where I was forced to interact nicely to people and it was also where I met a friend who encouraged me to do crazy stuff with her. I have an old LJ account that documents the adventures of our second semester and I am forever grateful for having a friend like her in my life.

I loved that this book was about being engrossed in the world of fanfiction. I’m still embarrassed to admit I frequently read ff, but I did, and maybe that’s why I loved reading all the Simon Snow fanfic in the book because I can see why people would love those characters.

I also loved Levi, he was so adorable! I think the clincher for me was that he walked Cath home from the library every night, and the reason why I never liked Nick from the beginning was that he never even offered! I especially love when they get in a little fight and Levi says “Fine, I’ll see you in 9 days” and then he’s sitting outside her door and says “who am I kidding, I can’t even go 9 hours without seeing you!” awww!

This book puts a giant smile on my face and all I want to do right now is pick it up and read it again.

Leave a Reply

