Book 89: Carry On

Book: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Source: borrowed from the library
Goal Progress: 89/100 books , 14/12 books I already own
Rating: 4/5

I don’t know how to feel about this book. I liked it. And I will continue to read everything Rainbow Rowell writes because she’s just such a good writer. But… I feel like this was too much like Harry Potter and I had a hard time getting around to the fact that it wasn’t. I expected the Mage to be more like Dumbledore which wasn’t at all the case and I kept having to remind myself that these are two separate books. (even though they kind of aren’t…) I also found it frustrating that you’re just dumped into the last book of the series. I wanted to start reading at book 1, but I couldn’t. I’m not sure how Simon/Baz went from hating each other to kissing, it felt a little abrupt. There were way too many POVs. And what was the point of Lucy’s POV? I guess it was sort of interesting to know, but none of the characters know. I just don’t know. I really did enjoy it. But at the same time, it kind of feels like a mess. And now all I want to do is re-read HP. Or I guess HPFF would be more applicable… ? Is there FF for for what’s basically an FF book? Where does it end?

Some good thoughts here.

Leave a Reply

