Book 97: The Fifteenth Minute

Book: The Fifteenth Minute by Sarina Bowen
Source: bought to read
Goal Progress: 97/100 books , 14/12 books I already own
Rating: 2.5/5

This is far and away my least favourite of the Ivy Years books. I thought the writing was a little sloppy in comparison to her first few books. Or maybe it was that enjoyed the characters far less so the mistakes stood out more? For starters, it should be Corey Callahan, not Corey Callihan. I thought DJ and Lianne were cute together for the first half of the book, and I was really into it, but after they finally hooked up, they got annoyingly obsessed with each other and every touch/kiss/night was basically described as the best ever. I’ve also been finding her sex scenes unrealistic and kind of strange. I did appreciate how early the reader was told what the situation was with DJ. One of my biggest pet peeves is when a book keeps you in suspense the entire time, only to be let down with the reveal. The last half of the book felt like it was cramming too many issues into it. Lianne’s family, her manager, the party, the trial, all this happened in a matter of a few chapters. I think a few issues could have been cut out or spread throughout the book. Also, the resolution to DJ’s situation was wrapped up way too neatly, way too quickly.

Leave a Reply

