Book 27: The Raven King

Book: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
Goal: 27
Rating: 5/5

I don’t even know what to do with myself now that this is done. I don’t even know what to think about the book I’m so overwhelmed. Basically, I just want to go back and re-read ALL the books again and come to a conclusion on my feelings for this book. Spoilers below:

I loved Henry Cheng, I wasn’t sure about him at first and I’m not sure I totally understand exactly why he is there, but he was none the less enjoyable.

I wish we got to see more of the Noah that we all loved.

I really missed the charged moments between each of the couples, I feel like that was totally ignored in most of this book. MS wrote such great almost-kiss scenes in earlier books, I wished the actual kisses were as swoon worthy.

I don’t know if it was because I was reading so fast or what, but often a character would just pop into a scene and I’d be like “how did they get there?”.

I think that this book was cut way too short, it should have been much longer (never have I ever said that about a book!) and then we would have been able to see all those in-between moments with the characters. I feel like the first three books were all about the in-between moments and here there was just too much plot going on to fit them in.

I was dying as Gansey was walking through the the cave, MS writing is just so, so good in this series.

God, that writing. It feels like the narration is a character in and of itself. And there’s so many layers, everything she writes feels deliberate and meaningful.

I think this is the book that Adam finally grows on me!

I’m unsure about how I feel about the fate of Gansey.

But I did like the Glendower resolution.

There should have been more Ronan. I mean you-know-who dies for gods sake. Does he ever make a dream thing to keep Matthew alive?

I feel like things could have been wrapped up a little better than they were. The ending was the end of the book and I didn’t feel like there was a lot of character resolution. I guess I think the ending should have been drawn out a little bit more. And while it’s nice to see where the characters end up, I would have been happy without the epilogue. I think I would have felt better about the Gansey situation then, if it ended with “Wake Up.”

All that being said, I can’t stop obsessing over this series so it gets a 5/5 anyway. I think I know how to describe my feelings toward these books, I am absolutely in love with them.

For the future… book recaps here: http://recaptains.co.uk/2013/09/the-raven-boys-by-maggie-stiefvater/

Leave a Reply

