Book 31: The Martian

Book: The Martian by Andy Weir
Goal: 31
Rating: 5/5

5 stars = I-just-want-to-talk-to-every-one-about-this-book

This book was so good. I wasn’t expecting it to be so engaging, especially since I had already seen the movie and knew what was going to happen. I loved Mark’s voice, he had just the right sense of humor for me. I loved his terrible jokes. He was a little repetitive at times and reiterated some of the things he had already done (though I’m sure I would have appreciate that fact had I not been absolutely obsessed with this book and read it every spare chance I got.)

Oddly, I think having read An Astronaut’s Gide… before this, made me enjoy/appreciate this book more than I would have otherwise. The fact that Mark comes up with all these crazy ideas on how to stay alive on Mars is totally believable because they are trained for all kinds of situations and given how hard it is to become an astronaut to be sent to the ISS and how accomplished you have to be, imagine how much more difficult it would be to qualify for a mission to Mars! Mark’s upbeat and humorous personality can also be attributed to the personnel selection for this mission (and it is briefly mentioned in the book.)

 

Leave a Reply

