Book 32: The Fixer

Book: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Goal: 32
Rating: 5/5

I struggle to come up with a rating system because when I look at Goodreads, 5 stars means “I loved this”, and I absolutely did love this. But then I remember reading Six of Crows and I remember how I felt finishing that and it’s just not the same. So, I’ve come to the conclusion this is a 5 star read but doesn’t make it onto my all-time-faves list, that’s only reserved for books that give you that feeling. Fangirl. The Raven Cycle. Six of Crows. I’ll Meet You There.

I was just addicted to this book, it was like crack. Tess was such a good character. I even liked how repetitive she was because it wasn’t an indication of bad writing, it was her personality and her trying to keep all the facts straight and figure out the mystery. I thought it was such a good realization that there was only so much that she could do as a 16? year old, a lot of the time I find that teenagers end up basically saving the world and I like that she had a pretty firm handle on her limitations. I loved all the supporting characters Liv, Bodie, Adam, Asher, Henry, Vivvie, even Emlia. It didn’t feel like they were added on just for the sake of adding characters in the book and I felt like they all had depth and I wanted to keep reading to figure out all their secrets. It wasn’t until about half way through the book that I realize there was no romance, and surprisingly, I didn’t even miss it! I almost hope they don’t ruin it with any kind of messy love triangle. I like both Asher and Henry as her partner in crime and begrudging friend. I actually really loved Henry, he had every reason to be mad at everyone but instead he was thoughtful and said such sweet things to Vivvie when she brought the newspaper article. This book was also so clever and left so many clues throughout the book that I felt like maybe I had it all figured out, only to realize that I didn’t! Even though I was sort of close!

I thought that this was maybe a little too similar to Scandal, so much so that I could hear Kerry Washington in my head as Ivy’s voice. Is this fixer business really a thing in Washington?

 

 

Leave a Reply

