Book 34: First & Then

Book: First & Then by Emma Mills
Goal: 34
Rating: 3/5

Hmmm. I really liked parts of this book, sometimes Devon was really funny and witty and other times she was just boring taking about the day-to-day of her life. I felt like this book should have resonated with me more; I totally related to the unextraordinary life of a high schooler but it just didn’t hit deep enough for me. It felt like it just skimmed over everything that would have made it a truly memorable book. And I kind of wish that there were more books about when girls don’t don’t get the guy. Because it was definitely not my high school experience that the girl got the guy. I really liked her relationship with Foster and I thought that was more interesting than any of the love stories in the book. Also I liked Ezra’s interest in Foster. I was expecting to see more of her and Ezra in an actual relationship after her comment in the beginning of the book. It would have been nice to see them together.  It wasn’t bad but I wanted to like it a lot more than I did.  It had potential though, and I will happily check out Emma Mills’s next novel.

Good thoughts here.

 

Leave a Reply

