Book 45: Moneyball

Book: Moneyball by Michael Lewis
Goal: 45
Rating: 5/5

I don’t know why, but I have such a soft spot for Michael Lewis. I read Boomerang and since then I’ve had him on my “must buy” list at used book sales. I was little worried that his books wouldn’t live up to the expectations in my head, but fortunately they did! He’s such an approachable writer. He takes subjects that I have almost no interest in and makes them exciting. For example, baseball. I loved the movie and wasn’t really sure what to expect from the book, and while the book was different, it was equally as engaging. Billy Beane and Paul weren’t as central to the story as I was expecting and I enjoyed the depth that the book gave to all the other players, especially Hatty, which made it feel like an even better underdog story.

Good review here.

Leave a Reply

