Books 67 and 68: The Truth About Forever & Along for the Ride

Books: The Truth About Forever & Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen
Goal: 67 and 68
Rating: 2.5/5, 3/5

I’m going to review these together because they are SO similar. First of all, I think I would have absolutely loved these when I was 16 but reading them now, they come off a little too pretentious and self-reflective. Also, as an adult, I feel like a lot of the adult situations felt unrealistic and that actually took away from my enjoyment of the books. That said, I did enjoy the romance in the novels, even though they follow the exact same formula (I was switching between the two books for a while and actually got confused over the characters/plot lines). I thought the writing in The Truth About Forever was a little stilted but I noticed a huge improvement in Along for the Ride (which was published a few years later). I definitely enjoyed Along for the Ride more, I thought the Heidi/Dad situation was much more interesting and I enjoyed Heidi as a character. In TTAF Delia was just too much of a nutball for me and the mom just felt like the busy business woman from Family Guy (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXM08-GyucQ).

Leave a Reply

