Book 5: Order of the Phoenix

Book: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling
Rating: 4/5

I was really surprised that I enjoyed this as much as I did, this is the first HP book that I haven’t had to push through to finish and I was genuinely interested in what was happening. Umbridge wasn’t nearly as present in the book as I was expecting, though I did tire of the “toadlike” description every time she was mentioned. Harry was too whiny for my taste, but I loved that we got to see more of Neville and I quite liked the addition of Luna. I also really liked Ginny, she seemed a little more fleshed out. I forgot how many small reveals we get in this book like Neville’s parents, why Harry has to return home every summer, that the prophecy could have been about Neville.  Rowling’s writing still drives me nuts and I agree with this review  especially regarding her characterizations.

Good (positive) thoughts here though.

And I just googled the spelling of Neville’s name and the more recent pictures of Matthew Lewis popped and damn, I had forgotten about grown up Neville.

Leave a Reply

