Book 18: It Ends With Us

Book: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
Rating:3/5

Ugh, I have such mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, I think it’s an important book. On the other hand, it’s still very much a Colleen Hoover book which sometimes makes it a little bit hard to read. There’s just something unrealistic about her books which bothers me because I want this to be relateable and true but then she says things like “I got three car seats at my babyshower” and I just think what!? It pulls me so far out of the book. I thought it was really eye opening to see the path of abuse as it leads from something seemingly innocent and an accident to it escalating and then having to make a decision about where to go, I thought that was really good. But then my problem is that it’s over explained and it becomes a little preachy and I wanted less of Lily’s voice telling me how to feel and I wanted to come to terms with it on my own.

Good reviews here, here, and here.

Leave a Reply

