Book 19: The Upside of Unrequited

Book: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
Rating: 3/5

I’m pretty mixed on this book. Overall, it was pretty cute, but I had a lot of issues with it, too. Molly was a really annoying narrator, we spent too much time stuck in her head going over past crushes and other things. There were way too many characters, and so we didn’t really get to focus on any of them. I did not like the Will story line, I just wanted her to be with Reid. It felt too contemporary with all the emojis and the way everyone spoke, and maybe that is currently real life for teenagers but it was just annoying to me. It also makes the book feel really dated, like if someone wants to read this in 10 years they’re going to be like what are they even talking about? I could have done without a play by play of the wedding, by that point I had lost interest and just wanted the book to be over. On the plus side, I really liked Reid and loved Reid and Molly together. I thought Molly’s angst when Reid was hanging out with Olivia and the ensuing fall out from the walk home was so on point.

Good review here.

Leave a Reply

